Logo: University of Southern California

Advanced Materials

Bio/chem sensors, integrated photonics, optical materials
armani@usc.edu

Wenji Victor Chang
Nonlinear dynamics of elastomers, corenal and skin biomechanics, asphalt modification with polymers
wenji@usc.edu

Daniel Dapkus

Photonics, MOCVD & III-V materials, novel photonic devices
dapkus@usc.edu

Edward Goo
Phase transformation and crystal defects, deformation twinning, cathode materials for Li-ion batteries
ekgoo@usc.edu

Martin Gundersen
Plasma
mag@usc.edu

Malancha Gupta
Functional polymer films, chemical vapor deposition, biologically-inspired nanomaterials, composites, and hydrogels
malanchg@usc.edu

Andrea Hodge
Nanomechanics, nanocrystalline materials processing, high temperature mechanics
ahodge@usc.edu

Rajiv K. Kalia
Petascale simulations with quantum-level accuracy, simulations of 10 million-10 billion atom nanosystems (inorganic, organic, and biochemical)
rkalia@usc.edu

Mike Kassner
Metal plasticity theory, creep, fracture, fatigue, semi-solid forming
kassner@usc.edu

Terence G. Langdon
Mechanical properties of metals and ceramics, creep, superplasticity, severe plastic deformation
langdon@usc.edu

Anupam Madhukar
Nanostructure synthesis, self-organized nanostructures for radiation detection and solar energy conversion, abiotic-biotic interfacial phenomena at the nanoscale
madhukar@usc.edu

Noah Malmstadt
Cell membrane biophysics, biomimetic synthetic cell membranes, green nanomanufacturing
malmstad@usc.edu

Florian B. Mansfeld
Corrosion science and technology, the interaction of bacteria and metal surfaces, green technology in corrosion prevention
mansfeld@usc.edu

Aiichiro Nakano
Petascale simulations with quantum-level accuracy, simulations of 10 million-10 billion atom nanosystems (inorganic, organic, and biochemical)
anakano@usc.edu

Steven R. Nutt
Lightweight materials and structures, mechanical behavior of composites, manufacturing science for composites
nutt@usc.edu

Armand R. Tanguay
Optical materials, thin films, optical and photonic devices, hybrid electronic/photonic multilayer retinas and neural networks
atanguay@usc.edu

Mark E. Thompson
Organic LEDs, photochemical energy conversion
met@usc.edu

Theodore T. Tsotsis
Reaction engineering, membrane separation processes
tsotsis@usc.edu

Priya Vashishta
Petascale simulations with quantum-level accuracy, simulations of 10 million-10 billion atom nanosystems (inorganic, organic, and biochemical)
priyav@usc.edu

Jongseung Yoon
Printed assembly of micro/nanostructured inorganic materials, 3D heterogeneous integration of dissimilar materials for large, flexible devices
js.yoon@usc.edu

Chongwu Zhou
Nanotechnology, nanoelectronics and bionanotechnology, energy nanotechnology, carbon nanotubes, graphene, nanowires
chongwuz@usc.edu